Navigation

Search

Interior of the House

The first floor of Carr's Hill is public-private space.  The President of the University hosts students, alumni, faculty, staff, and friends here for dozens of events over the course of the year.  A careful blend of artwork throughout the home - most of it on loan from the University's Fralin Museum of Art - highlights the rich history of the University, honors the architectural and historic nature of the building, and showcases artistic styles from around the world and across the centures.

View the photo slideshow below for a virtual tour of Carr's Hill.  Hover over each image for a caption describing the featured room and artwork.

The front doors of Carr's Hill lead into the large, symmetrical Entrance Hall.

Across from the grand colonial revival staircase designed by McKim, Mead & White hangs a massive Chinese coromandel screen from the late-nineteenth century.

The grandfather clock on the opposite side of the Entrance Hall was discovered in the attic of Morea, the home of John Patton Emmet, the University's first professor of natural history. The Entrance Hall also features an 1830 copy of the Joseph-Desire Court portrait of the Marquis de Lafayette, on loan to the University from the Thomas Jefferson Foundation, which owns and operates Monticello.

The side hall contains one of several guest books at Carr's Hill, which guests are invited to sign.

The sitting room, with its dark green walls, features a set of dramatic portraits of the Rives family, including the 1831 painting by George Cooke above the fireplace.

William Cabell Rives served as Ambassador to France at the time of the painting. All three Rives children became students of the University.

The shelves beside the fireplace hold a 95-piece collection of Rose Medallion Chinese porcelain china, given by alumni to the University.

Originally planned as a library, the living room is light-filled and features the home's only painting of Thomas Jefferson.

Despite being designed as a library for President Alderman, the living room never served as one.

The living room also features a Steinway Model O grand piano originally owned by Daisy Fickenscher, sister of Arthur Fickenscher, the first professor of music at the University and chair of the music department from 1920-1941. President Hereford was known to play New Orleans blues on the piano, and President Sullivan's annual Holiday Open House features a sing-along.

The dining room at Carr's Hill is among the home's most impressive features, and boasts a large Sheraton-style pedestal table custom-made for the home by Richmond cabinet maker Harrison Higgins. It was a gift to the University from President Casteen.

The wallpaper in the dining room is dramatic. Installed in July 2006, it was originally designed in Paris in 1814 by Joseph Dufour, and depicts the monuments of Paris in a colorful block print.

The library, originally designed as President Alderman's study, contains the President's personal library, and features several notable works of art, including a set of paintings by Lincoln Perry, who also painted the murals in Old Cabell Hall.

The Carr's Hill kitchen is closed to guests, and is the workspace of Carr's Hill chef Peter Bowyer.

A large butler's pantry holds the house china collection. The custom china features the seal of the University superimposed on the Jefferson pattern by Lenox.